ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I shall be ungrateful to my honourable guide, friends and colleagues in the department if I do not acknowledge the most valuable help and active academic cooperation extended to me by them during my tenure of research. I am particularly thankful to Dr.(Smt.) S.G. Kawatkar, Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur under whose guidance I have completed this research. Throughout this period she encouraged everyslightests improvement and hence a great source of inspiration for me. I find no words to express my heartfelt thanks to her for the most valuable and relevant suggestions.

Thanks are also, due to Dr. C.K.Bhaskare, Reader in Inorganic Chemistry, Shivaji University, for his creative cooperation and advice during the course of my research work.

I am extremely grateful to Dr. M.H.Jagdale, Professor and Head, Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, for providing me the necessary facilities to complete this work.

I am also thankful to the authorities of The Phaltan Education Society, Phaltan and Principal, S.A.Bhosale, Mudhoji College Phaltan, (Satara) for granting me a study leave to complete the M.Phil. Course. My thanks go to Dr.S.N.Deshmukh, Lecturer in Physical Chemistry for his kind cooperation during the period of this research work.

I must mention my sincere thanks to the University Grants Commission,

New Delhi for awarding me a Teacher Fellowship for one year.

Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur. July, 1987.

(R.V. Nimbalkar)