ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

This dissertation was undertaken and completed under the esteemed guidance of Dr.S.R.Kulkarni, Willingdon College,Sangli. I record my sense of gratitude to Dr. S.R.Kulkarni. It was impossible to complete the dissertation without his encouraging guidance.

I am thankful to the authorities of U.G.C. for granting me the Teacher Fellowship for the year 1992-93.

I am also thankful to Principal Abhaykumar Salunkhe, the Secretary, Shri. Swami Vivekanand Shikshan Sanstha ,Kolhapur, for his kind consideration for my study leave.

I am sincerely indebted to Dr. L. Radhakrishna, Professor and Head Department of Mathematics, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, for his valuable suggestions.

My grateful thanks are due to Principal P.B.Chavan, Registrar Shri S. G. Shitole and my colleagues of R. P.College, Osmanabad.

I take this opportunity to thank: the Principal Willingdon College, Sangli, Head Departmentof Mathematics and the Librarian of Willingdon College, Sangli for their cooperation.

My special thanks are due to Prof. U. H. Naik and Prof. S. B. Joshi for fruitful discussions of the subject. I fail in my duties if I do not express my sense of gratitude to Mrs. V. S. Bellary for her unending cooperation.

Finally I thank Shri. R.B.Karmarkar for patience and excellent typing, well in time.

Abellin.

(S. N. Bellary)