: ACKNOWLEDGEMENT :

I am highly indebted to my Research Guide Dr. C.S. Shalgaonkar, Lecturer in Physics Department, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, for his invaluable guidance and encouragement throughout this work.

I would like to thank Dr. R.N.Patil, Professor and Head, Department of Physics, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, who has been a constant source of inspiration and provided all the laboratory facilities to pursue this work.

I am indekted to the Vice-Chancellor Dr.K.B.Powar and Dr.B.P.Sakale, the Registrar of the Shivaji University, Kolhapur for providing facilities.

My thanks are due to the authorities of Mahatma Basweshwar Education Sanstha and the Principal, Mahatma Basweshwar College, Latur, for sponsoring me as a teacher fellow.

I should like to express my thanks to Dr. R.D.Lawangar-Powar, Mr.M.B.Rote, Mr.S.G.Patil, Mr.Satish Lotake, Mr. S.M. Sangale, A.E.Korade, J.K.Nandagave, P.R.Bote and P.K.Patil for their informal discussions, and their help in experimental work.

My greatest thanks and love go to my family members for their normal support.

Finally, I thank Miss Geeta Gosavi for neat and accurate typing of the thesis.

