ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I am highly indekted to Dr. Lawangar-Pawar, Lecturer in Physics,

Shivaji University, Kolhapur, for his involuable guidance and encourage-

ment throughout this work. I should like to record my grateful thanks

to him.

I would like to thank Dr.R.N.Patil, Professor and Head, Depart-

ment of Physics, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, who has been a constant

source of inspiration and provided all the laboratory facilities

available in the department.

My thanks are due to the authorities of Rayat Shikshan Sanstha

and the Principal, Pandharpur College, Pandharpur, for sponsoring me

as Teacher Fellow.

I have benefitted from many informal discussions with Dr. C.S.

Shalgaonkar, Dr. M.G. Patil, Dr. R.R. Hadgal, Mr. A.E. Korade, Mr. K.S.

Daddi and Mr. Nandgave. Their help is most gratefully acknowledged.

I must acknowledge with appreciation the neat and accurate typing

work of this thesis done by Mr. Gosavi and excellent figure tracing

by Mr. Ravan.

Last but not the least, I owe my sincere thanks to my wife and

relatives whose love has been a constant source of inspiration through-

out my work.

Kolhapur

M.J.Kolekar

May 27,1988.