## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

It gives me a great pleasure to express my deep sense of gratitude to Dr. M. K. Soudagar, Prof. and Head, Department of Physics, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for his expert valuable guidance and constant encouragement during the course of my work.

I am grateful to Late Prof. S. A. Patil, former Head, Department of Physics of this University for providing me all the facilities during his tenure.

I extend my sincere thanks to all my teachers as well as the administrative and non-teaching staff of the Physics Department and University for their co-operation.

I am grateful to the Chairman and the Members of the Board of Management, G. E. Society, Gokak and Prof. R. S. Dummugol, Principal, J. S. S. Science College, Gokak and Prof. G. M. Andani, former Principal, J.S.S. Science College, Gokak for the encouragement and guidance. I also thank all the members of staff of J.S.S. Science College, Gokak for their co-operation.

I sincerely appreciate the help rendered by all my M.Phil. and Ph.D. colleagues.

No words are adequate to express my gratefulness to my wife Smt. Divya whose love has been a continuous source of inspiration for me for the completion of this work. I also thank my father-in-law Shri K. M. Padaki for his blessings and co-operation during the period of this work.

This work has been made possible due to the availability of a one year Fellowship award by the U.G.C. for which I am thankful to the concerned authorities.

At last my thanks are due to Shri Sikander I. Shaikh for his efficient typing of this Dissertation in time.

Place: Kolhapur.

Date: 23-08-2001

(Shri R. S. Kaulgud)