ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

I would like to seize this opportunity to express my sincere and heartfelt gratitude to my guide Dr. Ashok Chousalkar, without whom this thesis would never have seen the light of the day.

I would also like to express my gratitude to Dr. K. K. Kavlekar, Head of the Department of Political Science for the co-operation extended by him to me.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the Librarian of the Shivaji University Dr. J.B. Jadhav for the research facilities extended to me. I am equally thankful to Mr. S. S. Kamat for his co-operation extended to me in my research work.

Lastly, I would also like to thank Mr. S. R. Toraskar for having typed out the thesis in so short a time.