ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I am grateful to Dr.A.S.Chousalkar for his able guidance in my dissertation work. He has been a source of inspiration and encouragement to me.

I also take this opportunity to express my thanks to Dr.K.K.Kavlekar, Professor & Head, Department of Political Science, Shivaji University, Kolhapur. I also thank our Principal Smt.Sumatibai Patil, Chh.Shivaji College, Satara, for giving me an opportunity to undertake my vacational M.Phil.Course and for encouraging me from time to time to complete the work successfully.

I must thank Shri B.T. Wadakar, the Librarian, Chh. Shivaji College, Satara, for lending me all the necessary valuable books.

Further, I thank my intimate friends Mr.S.C.Bagawade, Mr.S.A.Sawant, Mr.P.T.Joseph, Principal R.K.Shinde, for going through the manuscript of the present work; and all others, who encouraged and helped me from time to time.

I finally thank Shri Patil, for neatly typing the final draft of the dissertation.

Department of Political Science, Shivaji University, Kolhapur. (P.J.JADHAV)

• • •