ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

It gives me great pleasure to express my deep

gratitude to our respected Vice-Chancellor K.Bhogishayana, Shri. Patankar H.A., Registrar of our University, Dr. M.H. Jagadale, Prof. and Head, Department of Chemistry for their act of kindness, during the research work.

I gratefully acknowledge my deep indebtedness to the Principal, Willingdon College and Head of the Chemistry Department for granting the Study Leave. I am also thankful to the authorities, University Grants Commission, New Delhi for offering the Teacher Fellowship.

It also gives me great pleasure to express my deep gratitude to my Guide, Dr. S.G. Sankpal, Lecturer in Chemistry Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for the keen interest shown by him while the present work was in process and without which the present work would not have been completed.

I am thankful to Mr. A. R. Kulkarni who have assisted in bringing out this dissertation in a presentable form. I am also thankful to the Non-teaching staff of the Chemistry Department, Shivaji University Kolhapur.

Y. N. BHOJANI.

KOIHAPUR August 1985 Lecturer in Chemistry, Willingdon College, Sangli