ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I have a great pleasure to have been associated with and worked under the able and inspiring guidance of Dr.(Smt.) S.G.Kawatkar, Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur under whose keen supervision this dissertation has been completed by me. I have been receiving her valuable suggestions and constant encouragement, without which it would have not been possible for me to accomplish my purpose. I take this opportunity of acknowledging my sincere feeling of gratitude and respect for her valuable help throughout the course of the present work.

I am extremely grateful to Dr. C.K.Bhaskare, Reader in Inorganic chemistry, Shivaji University, for his creative cooperation and advise during the course of my research work.

I am thankful to Dr. M.H.Jagdale, Prof. and Head, Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, for providing me the necessary facilities to complete this work.

I am also thankful to the authorities of Ahmednagar Jilha Maratha Vidya Prasarak Samaj, Ahmednagar and Principal, K.H.Shitole, New Arts, Commerce and Science college, Ahmednagar for granting me a study leave to complete the M.Phil. course. My thanks go to Dr. M.B.Chavan and Dr. E.G.Sase for their kind cooperation during the period of this research work.

Finally, I must mention my sincere thanks to the University Grants commission, New Delhi for awarding me a Teacher Fellowship for one year.

Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur - 416 004

July, 1984.

(A.M. Humbe)