ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

This work would not have been possible without constant encouragement and inspiring guidance provided by my research guide Dr. A. M. Chavan, Reader in Chemistry Department, Shivaji University, Kolhapur. To him, 1 offer my deep gratitude and sincere thanks. I am also thankful to Dr. D. S. Ambardekar, Frof. and Head, Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for making me available the Laboratory facilities.

I am thankful to Dr. S. N. Deshmukh, Dr. S. K. Haibatti, Dr. V. S. Kulkarni and Dr. M. D. Bhand for their continuous encouragement and hearty co-operation. I am thankful to members of teaching and non-teaching staff of Chemistry Department for their kind co-operation.

I am also thankful to Shri Patil V. Y., Shri Bandiwadekar S. P., Shri Kamble P. S. and my friends Shri Kumbhar P. P. and Subhash Patil for their kind assistance, co-operation and encouragement during the course of this work.

Lastly but not the least, I would like to express my thanks to Shri Patil S. M. for his neat and clean typing and Shri Patil S. V. for his correct drawings.

(P. R. PAWAR)

KOLHAPUK.

Date : 3 8 1989