## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I am highly indebted to my Research Guide Dr. R. D. Lawangar, Lecturer in Physics, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, for his invaluable guidance and encouragement throught this work.

I would like to record my grateful thanks to him. I am also grateful to Dr. R. N. Patil, Frofessor & Head of the Physics

Department, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, for encouragement and for providing all the facilities in the Department.

It is my sincere duty to thank the Vice-Chancellor, Frincipal, Mr. R. K. Kanbarkar, of Shivaji University, Kolhapur; Principal, Mr. K. R. Yadav, of the New College, Kolhapur; Chairman, Mr. G. N. Bhosale, of the Prince Shivaji Maratha Boarding House, Kolhapur and Principal, Dr. B. P. Sabale, of Krishna Mahavidyalaya, Rethre (Ek.) for their constant encouragement and timely help.

I have benefitted from many informal discussions with Dr. C. S. Shalgaonkar, Dr. M. G. Patil, Mr. R. R. Hadgal, Mr. J. K. Nandgave and Mr. P. R. Bote. Their help is most gratefully acknowledged.

I can't keep without mentioning my sincere thanks to my colleagues in the Department of Physics, New College, Kolhapur.

No words are adequate to express my sincere thanks to my brother, Mr. Shivaji Patil, without whose active encouragement this thesis would have never seen the light of the day.

Finally I thank Mr.V.B.Patil for neat and accurate typing of the thesis.

The New College, Kolhapur. March // .1983.

P.K.Patil)