ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

This work would not have been possible without constant encouragement and inspiring guidence provided by research guide, Dr.C.S.Shalgaonkar, Lecturer in Physics, Shivaji University, Kolhapur. To him I offer my deep gratitude and sincere thanks. I am also thankful to Prof.R.N.Patil, Head of the Physics Department, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, for providing me the Laboratory facilities.

I am also greateful to the management of the Rayat
Shikshan Sanstha, Satara, for granting me permission to
complete M.Phil course. I must soncerely thank, the Principal N.D.
Thorat, Thakkarbappa Junior College, Gandhi-Tekadi and
Principal K.K.Ghatage, R.N.Agarwal, Technical Institute and
Junior College, Baramati, for their constant encouragement
during this work. Thanks are due to my colleagues for their
assistance during the time of this work.

I should like to express my thanks to Dr.R.D.Lawangar, Mr.L.R.Pol, Mr.Sharad Patil and Mr.A.B.Deshmukh, for their experimental help and many informal discussions.

The contribution to this work by my wife Sou. Lata cannot be exaggerated. Her patience and self sacrifice during these years have sustained me; her optimism and good cheer have encouraged me. Finally, I thank Shri Patil, for neat and accurate typing of the thesis.

Kolhapur. (S.B.Kale)