ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I offer my sincere thanks to my research guide Dr.B.K. Chougule, for his keen interest and valuable guidance throughout the course of this dissertation.

I am thankful to Prof. R.N.Patil, Head of the department of Physics, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for his encouragement and useful discussions.

I thank the faculty of the department of physics, especially Dr. S.A.Patil, who have kindly extended their helping hand whenever I requested. Dr.K. Byrappa of University of Mysore, Dr. C.R.K.Murthy of the T.I.F.R., Bombay and Shri. I.S. Jarali deserve special thanks for extending us the XRD, SEM, HYSTERESIS and IR facilities.

I extend my thanks to the Non-teaching staff of the department for their co-operation. Mr.G.D. Mahadik and M.M. Chougule need a special mention here. I am thankful to my research colleagues Shri.D.I. Jadhav, D.S. Revadkar, S.I. Patil, S.J. Patil, R.S. Shinde and Satish Lotake for their help.

I wish to record my thanks towards my family members for creating an environment which helped me to complete this work.

I thank Principal S.B. Khodanpur, S.S. Arts College and T.P. Science Institute, Sankeshwar, the Managing Committee of S.D.V.S. Jangh, Sankeshwar and the Deputy Director of Collegiate Education, Dharwad for being instrumental in deputing me to the M.Phil. course. I also thank my colleagues in the college for their encouragement and assistance.

I thankfully acknowledge the facilities extended by the Shivaji University authorities to carry out this work and the U.G.C. for providing me the financial assistance.

Finally, I thank Shri V.B. Kademani for neat and accurate typing; P.V. Ravan for tracing and M/s. Dige & Bros. for Xeroxing work.

Kolhapur.

Date:- 31 AUG 1987

(R.B. PUJAR)