: ACKNOWLEDGMENT

I am grateful to Dr. A. S. Chousalkar for his valuable guidance in my dissertation work. He has been a source of inspiration and encouragement to me.

I also take this opportunity to express my thanks to Dr. K. K. Kavlekar, Professor and Head,
Department of Political Science, Shivaji University,
Kolhapur; Prof. G. N. Guru, Lecturer in Political Science,
Shivaji University, Kolhapur, Prof. V. B. Patil, Prof.
P. A. Saravade for their kind help and ecouragement.

I finally thank Mr. Subhash Toraskar for neatly typing the final draft of the dissertation.

S. K. Deshmukh

Department of Political Science, Shivaji University, Kolhapur,