## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENT**

I would like to express my profound gratitude to my Research Guide Dr.K.K.Kavlekar, Professor & Head, Department of Political Science, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, for his valuable guidance in completing this Dissertation.

I owe deep thanks to Prin.S.B.Lalsangi, Shri Shivyogi Murughendra Swamiji Arts, Science and Commerce College, Athani, for his encouragement. I am also very much thankful to Dr.A.S.Chousalkar, Dr.G.N.Guru, Prof.S.V. Jondhale and Dr.Mrs.V.P.Rasam, Department of Political Science, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, for fruitful and guiding discussions at the time of research.

My colleagues Prof.B.B.Hulmani and Shri.A.S.

Angadi, Librarian, have also helped and encouraged me throughout this work. My thanks are also due to them.

Finally, I wish to express my gratitude to all those who have helped me directly or indirectly in the completion of this work.

KOLHAPUR

August 14, 1989.

B.M.GANIGER