ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I must express my gratefulness and gratitude to my revered Guide, Dr. K.K. Kavalekar, Professor and Head of the University Department of Political Science, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, who encouraged me at every stage of the completion of this work. Without his guidance and help this M.Phil. dissertation would have been absolutely impossible.

It is my privilege to record my deep gratitude to Com. K.L. Malabade, Com. Suryaji Salunkhe, Shri Shamrao Kulkarni, and Vijay Jagtap who supplied me with very useful material at the time of interview.

I must also mention my debt to the Principal, Shri D.A.

Patil and Dr. A.M. Sutar of the Arts, Science and Commerce

College, Ichalkaranji, the Librarian, Shivaji University,

Kolhapur, the Librarian, Arts, Science and Commerce College,

Ichalkaranji, the Librarian, Apte Wachan Mandir, Ichalkaranji,

Prof. Balasaheb Buwa, Prof. Subhash Patil and Shri Shrikant

Bhide for their sympathy and help.

Kolhapur: (A.K. Jadhav)

Date: