ACKNOWLEDGEMENT :

I would like to express my gratitude to Dr. K. K. Kavlekar, Prof. & Head, Department of Political Science, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, without whose help, assistanced and guidance, I might not have been able to complete and preparation of this dissertation.

I also take this opportunity to express my thanks to Dr. A.S. Chousalkar, Dr. G. N. Gawar Guru, Mrs. V. P. Rasam, and Shri. S. V. Jondhale for their help and encouragement.

Further, I thank Dr. Punde, Lecturer in Political Science, Sangameshwar College, Solapur, Shri. F. H. Bennur Lecturer in Political Science, Sangameshwar College, Solapur, for their kind help.

I finally thanks Subhash Toraskar for neatly typing the final draft of the dissertation.

Date : 20 June 1987.

S. G. LANDGE.