ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I wish to record my sincere gratitude to Dr.S.V.Kulkarni, Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for his guidance and valuable advice throughout the work.

I have received valuable help in my work from Dr.C.K. Bhaskare, Reader in Inorganic Chemistry, which I should acknowledge with gratitude.

I am also grateful to Dr.M.H.Jagdale, Prof. & Head, Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur and Dr.D.S.Ambardekar, Prof. in Physical Chemistry for the encouragement from time to time.

I express my heartiest thanks to the authorities of Rathagiri Education Society, Ratnagiri, Principal V.M.Ranade & Vice-Principals, A.S.Mulye, A.L.Jade and V.S.Kayal of Gogate Jogalekar College, Rathagiri for granting me a study leave of one year and giving an opportunity for higher studies.

I am extremely grateful to the University Grants Commission, New Delhi for awarding me a Teacher-Fellowship for one year which enabled me to complete this work. I would like to put my thanks to the authorities of Shivaji University, Kolhapur.

My thanks are due to Shri S.S.Joshi for his valuable suggestions & timely co-operation. I must put on record my deepest gratitude towards my wife who inspired me and looked after everybody at home to let me pursue the advanced knowledge of Chemistry.

HraleVA

August 14,1985