## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I am deeply and sincerely indebted to my research guide Dr. M.A. Anuse, Reader in Inorganic Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University Kolhapur for his precious persistent guidance and constant encouragement.

I am extremely grateful to Dr. M.B. Chavan retired professor of Inorganic Chemistry for his valuable guidance, suggestions and timely help.

I wish to express my deep senSe of gratitude to Dr. K.J. Patil, Professor and Head, Depratment of Chemistry, for advice and providing laboratory facilities.

I wish to express my sincere thanks to the Vice-chancellor and the Registrar, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for allowing me to work in the university Department of Chemistry.

I express my sincere thanks to (Late) Dr. S.K. Haibatti, Dr. S.V. Kulkarni, Dr. P.P. Hankare, Dr. P.N. Bhosale and Dr. G.S. Gokavi for their immense help during the present investigation.

I am thankful to members of the teaching and nonteaching staff of this department for their kind co-operation.

I am also thankful to Shri. S.N. Gawale Shri G.B. Kolekar, shri S.S. Kolekar and Shri T.N. Lokhande for their kind co-operation during this work.

My sincere thanks are due to shri S.S. Bellad and Shri S.I. Surupur, research scholars, department of Physics, for their friendly help and encouragement.

I express my sincere thanks to my friend Shri A.S. Madagi for his moral support and constant encouragement.

I am deeply grateful to my parents and my brothers

Shri Chandrashekhar and Shri Muragendra for their

constant encouragement throughout my academic career.

Kolhapur

Arunkumar S. Motagi.

February 1997