ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

I would like to be express my deep gratitude to Dr. G.S.Gokavi, M.Sc.Ph.D, Lecturer in physical chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for his constant encouragement, most helpful comment and generous and valuable guidance, without which this work would not have been possible. I shall even remain grateful to him.

My sincere thanks are to Dr. R.B.Mane, Professor and Head, Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for the inspiration and providing the facilities.

I wish to express my deep sense of gratitude to Prof. K.J. Patil, Head, Physical Chemistry section and I am also thankful to Dr. A.M. Chavan, Dr. M.D. Bhand, Dr.S.N. Deshmukh and Dr. S.R. Patil for their continuous encouragement and heartly co-operation. I am also thankful to member of teaching staff of Chemistry Department, for their kind co-operation.

I am also grateful to the management of Shree Annadaneshwar College Naregal, and Prin. Shri. B. F. Chegaraddi, for granting me permission to complete M.Phil course.