## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENT**

I am from my heart grateful to my beloved teacher and guide Dr. S. N. Deshmukh, Reader, Department of Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for his inspiring guidance, fruitful discussions, continuous interest and encouragement at each and all phases of this dissertation.

I express my sincere thanks to Dr. K. J. Patil, Head of Chemistry Department, Shivaji University, Kolhapur for his valuable suggestions and co-operation during the progress of this work.

I sincerely thank my respected teachers Dr. A. M. Chavan, Dr. M. D. Bhand, Dr. G.S. Gokavi and Dr. S.R. Patil for their valuable co-operation in making the study successful. Also I am very much thankful to the other mambers of Chemistry Department, Shivaji University, Kolnapur for their time to time help.

I express my sincere thanks to the University Grants Commission, New Delhi, and Shivaji University, Kolhapur for the award of teacher fellowship, for this course.

Lastly, I express my deep sense of gratitude towards Prof. M.P.Damle, Head of Chemistry Department and my colleague staff members of Chemistry Department, Willingdon College, Sangli for encouragement and sanction of leave for the course.

Kolhapur

9th May, 96

G. T. Dhopade